About Us
 The East Central Area Agency on Aging, serving Colorado's Region V (Cheyenne, Elbert, Lincoln and Kit Carson Counties), is among 16 designated Area Agencies on Aging within the state of Colorado. Through federal Older Americans Act grant funds, allocated to the Region via the East Central Council of Local Governments (ECCOG), the area agency utilizes these funds in conjunction with state, county, and local funds to plan for, monitor and fund an array of home and community based services and programs.

In addition to the provision of services, a wide range of responsibilities are carried out by the Area Agency on Aging, such as:

Today, about 5,517 individuals age 60 and over reside within the boundaries (approximately 8,400 square miles) of Region 5 on the central plains of Colorado.  This population is growing faster than any other age group.  

Region V Strengths and Needs Assessment

Regional Advisory Board

The work of the AAA is guided by the newly restructured Senior Services and Transit Advisory Board, a volunteer group of thirteen citizens appointed by the ECCOG Board of Directors.  The Board reviews and makes comments and recommendations on policies, programs, and actions affecting the elderly; as well as recommends the allocation of OAA funds in the community to the ECCOG Board of Directors for approval.  

2010 Membership
Roger Hogan, Lincoln County
Vern Werner, Kit Carson County
Darrel Schallenberger, Cheyenne County
Jerry Allen, Cheyenne County
Beverly Newbanks, Lincoln County
David Crismon , Lincoln County  (Chair)
J. R. Wehrman, Elbert County
Nancyann Davidson, Elbert County

Shelley Hornung , At-Large Member

Sherry LeFlore, Cheyenne County

Jessie Pavlica, Elbert County

Loren Lambert , Kit Carson County

Debbie Lamm, Kit Carson County

Financial Information

The Area Agency on Aging utilizes a variety of funding sources to provide the most effective and efficient service delivery system possible.  These funding sources include:

Older Americans Act Title III thru CDHS State Unit on Aging
ECCOG (East Central Council of Local Governments)
Local Governments (Town and County)
Client Donations
State Funding for Senior Services

NSIP Cash (Nutrition Services Incentive Program) - formerly USDA

AoA (Administration on Aging) National Family Caregiver Support

FTA (Federal Transit Administration) funding thru CDOT's Transit Unit

AAA Administration

Terry Baylie,  Senior & Transit Services Director

Debby Conrads,   Senior & Transit Services Director
                            Nutrition Program Manager/Lead LTC Ombudsman

Angela Brinkhoff,  Senior Services Data Coordinator

Louise Mills,  Senior & Transit Services Coordinator
                       Regional Long Term Care Ombudsman

Top of Page